Article Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Sufjan Stevens Seven Swans Pop Music CD Review

y: Lee Dennis
Seven Swans is the latest Pop CD put out by the extremely talented Sufjan Stevens who once again has delivered a brilliant collection of tracks. I’m confident Sufjan Stevens fans, and Pop fans alike will be pleased with this one.

Unfortunately, it’s not everyday that I get a CD from an artist that I can just pop in and comfortably listen to from beginning to end. There is usually a song or two that I just can’t force myself to get through. Not at all the case with Seven Swans. Every track is enjoyable and was pretty easy for me to listen to from start to finish.

Seven Swans has a pleasantly varied, mix of 12 tracks that are very well written songs by this clearly superb artist. With many of the songs displaying a lot of the kind emotion that makes for a really great listen. Seemingly drawing from what I can only imagine are him own personal experiences. At different points touching on the most real emotions like love, heartbreak, pain, failed relationships and unattainable romance. They’re all here.

Overall Seven Swans is an outstanding release. What I call must have music. I give it two thumbs up and is most definitely a worthy addition to any Pop collection. Truly an outstanding Pop CD. One of those that is completely void of any wasted time, as each track is simply superb.

While the entire album is really very good the truly standout tunes are track 2 – The Dress Looks Nice On You, track 8 – We Won’t Need Legs To Stand, and track 12 – The Transfiguration.

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [...as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 1 – All The Trees Of The Field Will Clap Their Hands. This is a great track!

Seven Swans Release Notes:

Sufjan Stevens originally released Seven Swans on March 16, 2004 on the Family Rekords label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. All The Trees Of The Field Will Clap Their Hands 2. Dress Looks Nice On You, The 3. In The Devils Territory 4. To Be Alone With You 5. Abraham 6. Sister 7. Size Too Small 8. We Won’t Need Legs To Stand 9. Good Man Is Hard To Find, A 10. He Woke Me Up Again 11. Seven Swans 12. Transfiguration, The

Personnel: Sufjan Stevens (various instruments); Daniel Smith (vocals, bass); Elin Smith, Megan Smith (vocals); Andrew Smith, David Smith (drums).

Recorded at the New Jerusalem Rec Room, Clarksboro, New Jersey.

About the Author
door gallery in new jersey